Skip to content

Kanyakumari: Before Sunrise

by on November 30, 2010

Six in the early morning, I stumble out of my hotel room lethargically and saying to myself that this all will be worth the effort. Yes, I am finally in Kanyakumari, arrived just few hours before as part of a tour package from Madurai city. The tour promised one full day of temple sightseeing around the town, breakfast, lunch and fairly good amount of shopping time. But that’s not the only reason I chose this tour, it’s the cheapest means of transport that I can avail from Madurai city to Kanyakumari. Moreover, its promise to get us in the town by early morning for the prime attraction, the Sunrise, was what attracted me to the tour.

Kanyakumari has gathered itself an impressive tourist industry especially around sunrises and sunsets alone. Numerous hotels and tours participate in the race to offer best views. The tourist season is in April, when on a full moon’s night one can have a glimpse of both sunrise and sunset side by side. What makes this exclusive is the “V” shape coastline that offers striking panoramic views of the converging Bay of Bengal, Arabian Sea and Indian Ocean that settles around the coastline. On reaching the beach, our first stop, I abandoned my fellow travellers and the boring guide to get myself soaked in the warmth of sun.

So, I am at the beach exactly at the right time, before the breakdown of dawn. Soon, the black curtains of the night transforms into brilliant pinks, with shades of red, orange and purple. To admire the sunrise and changing patterns of the sky, I took small breaks during the trek.

As a child, I always admired Kanyakumari, as it being popular worldwide as royal tip of India and also as an exit into the grand beyond. Soon, I saw the welcome of the new day waking up the calm streets with its warmth. The fish market by the beach side started gaining rush and buzz and the fragrances of the freshly cooked breakfasts invited me. Well, starting my day at this end point of my country wasn’t a bad idea at all.

Soon the day passed away leaving a kind of emptiness in my soul. Something really fascinated about the place that’s asking me to see the place once again in nearby future.

4 Comments
  1. Arnav soory permalink

    What are the places worth visiting in Kerla.

    • Ram permalink

      Hi Arnav,

      Thanks for the visit at my blog. Some of the best places to visit in Kerala are of course are its lovely beaches like Cherai beach, The Backwaters, Chitram Art Gallery, Kashi Art Gallery, Mattancherry Palace and Veli Tourist Park.

      Kerala is blessed with Natural beauties and can be perfect for solace admirers.

      Thanks
      Ram

  2. Shekhr Singh permalink

    We are planning to visit kerla in December from Patna.
    Please late us know the suitable date in the month of December prefarly 15 to 25th. Please let us know about the places in kerla which are worth visiting.

    Let us know the hotel and flight cost. we are couple.

    Thnaks & Regards,
    Shekhr Singh
    8010087775

    • Ram permalink

      Hi Shekr,

      I am a traveller who loves to travel and write. To help you out in planning your holiday, I have forwarded your query to people who are travel experts and can surely help you arrange your trip.

      Wait for the reply.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

